French Press It!

Some writers would address this article to coffee fanatics and connoisseurs, but I am telling everyone, if you haven’t tried it, you have a new coffee experience waiting for you.

The French Press

There are two reasons I can come up with to use a French Press:

  1. TASTE, what the French Press does to the coffee is unique to pressed coffees.
  2. The press makes just enough coffee to fill my travel mug and I don’t have to worry that I forget to turn off the pot before I left.

Any coffee will work in a press; the grind and water are the most important FP Eileenelements. You will need to use a course grind (about like cornmeal) and of course good filtered water.

Well I guess you need to have a French Press. You can get a press at Wal-Mart, Target or Meijer. Name brand, off brand, I don’t believe it really matters that much. I do really love the looks of the Eileen by Bodum and it would make me feelvery elegant to share a pot made in the Eileen, but I am not willing to pay the price. I will stick with my boring $20 press.

The whole process is this simple:

  1. Grind two tablespoons of your favorite coffee (course grind)
  2. Heat your filtered water to about 200°
  3. Pour the hot water over the coffee in your press
  4. Stir, smell, Ummmm! Put the lid/plunger on
  5. Let stand 3-5 minutes (length determined by what you like.)
  6. Give it a swirl and then plunge it
  7. Drink it black or pour it over cream & sugar. (I am a cream & sugar person, which just about kills some coffee fanatics.) Oh well!

Short and simple. I could have given these instructions all wordy, but it will still come out the same. One more hint to make it better, pour it slow, drink it slow, relax, think good thoughts and Take Time to Taste the Coffee. Share a pot with your best friend or any friend; they will think they are your best friend after sharing this special coffee moment.

What is the best coffee to use in the French Press? Any coffee that you already love will do well in a press, but I have several that I am fond of right now: French Mission Bourbon, Colombia Serra Nevada, Nicaragua and Sumatra Half-Caf. Ask me in a few months and see if I still am hooked on those. Some press users prefer a dark roast and some prefer a medium roast, which is really just a taste preference. What I have found as a coffee roaster to be of the most importance is; high quality, fresh roasted coffees make the best cup no matter how you brew it. I look for a medium roast, full body with deep earthy, chocolate or nutty undertones, with just a hint of sweet fruitiness. A little of an Ethiopian coffee added will give you that fruit.

So if you have not already ran out and bought yourself a French Press, Press Pot, Coffee Press or Plunger go get one for your home and one for your office.

Create some fun tastes by adding other elements in the press like spices, cocoa and dried fruits. Make an extra cup and chill for an Iced Coffee later.

Why do you like to use a French Press?

Other articles you may want to read: Iced Coffee, the Better Way

6 Comments

Filed under coffee, Learn about coffee

6 responses to “French Press It!

  1. I’d recommend stirring after 1 minute (not immediately after pouring in the water – it has to build a crust at the top!) and pushing the mesh down after 4 minutes.

    Also, make sure to use fresh roasted coffee and grind just seconds before brewing as ground coffee goes stale very, very quickly.

    Lastly, if you have a blade grinder (twirly bird type), consider upgrading to a conical burr. Blades smash the beans into uneven parts so some of the coffee will be overextracted, some underextracted. Conical burr grinders slice the coffee into even pieces, makes a big difference. Enjoy the french press!

    • If you are going to take the time to break the crust, make sure you smell the coffee. Great stuff. I swirl when I am in a hurry. I know, shame on me.
      Ken recommended a burr mill grinders or conical grinders, I couldn’t agreee more, they are the best way to go but you will pay a bit more, but it really is worth it. You can always use your twirly bird type, as Ken has called it, for spices.
      As I said in the article, the most important elements are still the freshness of your coffee and how good the water is. I mean fresh roasted and fresh ground. Now that is fresh. I recommend that you read’ “How Fresh Is Your Coffee”. To get the true skinny on fresh.

      • Late reply I know, but you are spot on with the “I mean fresh roasted and fresh ground. Now that is fresh” comment. Sometimes I overhear someone say they’re going to make some fresh coffee, but what they really mean is they are making a new pot of coffee. Yes, the coffee you’re making a fresh brew, but if the beans are stale because they’re old or because you pre-ground them the night before, it’s fresh in terms of when it’s made but not really fresh tasting. I thought I’d point that out! Great post.

      • Ken, great to hear from you again. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and of course agreeing with me. It is all about FRESH, isn’t it?

  2. shereese

    What about the cholesterol? I love pressed coffee but as a health care policy writer I am well aware of the cholesterol content of non-filtered coffee. The press does not suppress the cholesterol. As a result, I only use my antique press (which I love) about once a month.

    • Read the article “Does Coffee Raise Cholesterol?” it includes a lot of details on this subject. But the one part of the article that you need to pay attention to is: “….They found that drinking an average of six cups of coffee a day was associated with increased total cholesterol and LDL…. ”
      Then read: “Five Foods that Fight It” It is up to us to us some common sense and apply it to our health. Eat right, exercise and maybe 6 cups a day of French Press is getting a little carried away. If you have a cholesterol issue, brewing your coffee and saving the pressed coffee for the times you are slowing down.

Leave a comment